ZEDO Advertising Technology Updates – October 2010

Our latest batch of updates includes improvements for the Inventory Forecasting report, easier participation in our Behavioral Exchange, a new version of our popular ADMagic tool, a new Publisher Protection Program, and more.

Quickly Identify the Source of Problem Ads on your Site
Our popular Firefox browser plugin, ADMagic, shows you the source of every ad on your page.  Quickly identify problem banner ads and turn them off directly from the webpage.

The latest version of this plugin can be used by ad operations professionals at any site. You do not need to use ZEDO’s ad serving technology to use this plugin.

To read more or download the latest version, visit www.zedo.com/admagic.

Improve Performance in the ZEDO Behavioral Exchange
We’ve given you the ability to categorize your Channels. This is currently only available for Publishers and websites in the ZEDO Behavioral Exchange and will improve performance of our network on your various channels. The Exchange also allows you to opt in only to specific channels.

One Year Forecasting
It’s really important for customers to know how much inventory they can book for years to come. ZEDO has improved its forecasting engine; now you can plan campaigns up to one year in the future!

More Reach Frequency Report Options
We’ve  added various new report formats in Reach Frequency Reports, to help you better determine the effectiveness of your campaigns.

New Hourly graph on Home Dashboard
Tired of finding out about problems after they happen? ZEDO’s new hourly graph will not only show important statistical data, but also help you identify problems in real-time.

Magically Saving You Bundles of Time.

Ad ops – stop wasting so much time searching for those problem banner ads that you have been instructed to take down! We are here to help you save time and headaches.  Introducing ADMagic, our new advertising technology that enables you to immediately identify problem banner ads, the source, and even pause the ad right from the page where the ad is serving.  By installing ADMagic, you and your co-workers can simply click a button to send ad details by email to your ad ops team to stop an ad that you don’t like.

Previously, this problem was only solved through the use of an installed packet sniffer, reviewing lines and lines of ad code and web calls, hours of investigation and phone calls, and hundreds of page refreshes to catch the ad.  Now, as soon as the problem banner is spotted, it can be reported and/ or stopped.  A half-day investigation is reduced to a two minute process.
plugin that helps ad ops team members immediately stop unwanted content or creative problems directly from your website.

Since ADMagic is tied directly to the ad server, it can share useful information like advertiser, impressions, status and more.  Ad ops can stop the problem and report it to the advertiser via email right then and there. We know what you’re thinking, that this COULD save you a bunch of time and headaches. We agree.

Check out these visuals:

Above, the ADMagic tool shows you the details of the ad right on the page.  You can even change the status of the ad and have it stop serving.

Sales professionals can quickly send a screenshot and problem report to the Ad operations team.

And, the ops team can check out the ad’s performance before taking any action.

ADMagic helps you resolve blocklist violations and prevent unwanted advertisers or content on your site.  ADMagic also lets you immediately kill potential unwanted malvertising, including attempted “drive by” downloads and fake antivirus warnings that scare or infect your users.  ADMagic addresses all these problems through exposing ad source information and providing controls that let you stop the ad and report it immediately.

Want to give it a spin?

  • Launch the Firefox browser.
  • Log in to your ZEDO account.
  • Click the “ADMagic” button on the home dashboard to install the plugin.
  • Restart Firefox.
  • Click the star icon at the bottom right of your browser.

Interested? Take a look at the full demo here: http://www.zedo.com/admagic

You got data, now what?

Internet publishers need to have insight into their data, that’s for sure.  At ZEDO we believe it’s not only about getting the data, it’s about what you are allowed to do with it; how much you can generate, in what format, and how many tools are available to turn you into an analytical quantitative master. So you want your advertising partner’s management platform to be as innovative as possible. Much like ZEDO’s (to shamelessly applaud ourselves).

We’ve been told that our interface is the easiest to use and that we have the “best reporting of all ad servers… both fast and flexible, allowing us to drill down into data from multiple views.” (Doucette Media).

To boot, publishers can customize their own reports in the ZEDO UI at lightning speed.  Email your advertisers success stories in the form of reports, and ensure them accurate spending with in-depth forecasting.  Because it’s not just about having data, it’s what you’re able to do with it.

Ads in iPhone apps? There’s a tag for that.

I love my iPhone. I love my iPhone apps. (Also, I’m cheap, so I’m happy to see ads if it will keep my costs down.) Undeniably,  iPhone apps are hot. In April, TechCrunch stated that, “the total number of devices running on the [Apple] platform [is] 85 million. There are now 185,000 applications on the app store, which have been downloaded 4 billion times.”. If you’ve got (or are planning to have) an iPhone application, then we can help you make some money with it.

If you’ve been following us over the last year, you know that we’ve branched way out from being just an ad server (with ad network optimization, ad ops, and other cool stuff). But don’t think we’re not still making our ad server awesome: We’ve built an ad tag that works in iPhone apps!

The tag is just a couple lines of code –  easy to implement. Ads for iPhone apps will be managed just like all other ads. You can run ads before or after the app is used,  in different dimensions (full screen or as a banner). A nice thing about ZEDO’s iPhone tag is that clicking on an ad doesn’t close the running app. Once the user is done browsing she can return to what she was doing in the application.

As an office with a lot of  iPhone users, we’re pretty excited about this. (The Blackberry users are waiting patiently for theirs.) If you have any questions or comments about this (or anything) we want to hear them.

As always, you can call your Account Manager or contact Sales at salesinfo@zedo.com or 415-348-1975.

Reach the TechCrunch article! http://techcrunch.com/2010/04/08/apple-has-sold-450000-ipads-50-million-iphones-to-date/

Ad Serving and Self Service Technology in One Place!

As a true advertising technology partner for publishers, we here at ZEDO have multiple products and services for publishers to choose from.  Most well known for our ad serving technology, we also have something that our competition doesn’t (and it just happens to be something that publishers and their advertisers want): a self service system.

Our expert engineer Ivan Yakovenko has worked diligently to make ZEDO the only advertising technology company that offers both a robust independent ad server AND a self service technology for publishers.

Not so sure about Self Service?  We want you to know that using it is easy and can help you save time and money.  By making it easy for advertisers to buy inventory directly from your website, and allowing them to manage their buys with a user-friendly technology, Self Service can save you time and money while keeping your customers happy and returning – which means more revenue for you (and isn’t that what this is all about?). Our experienced support team will help you throughout the entire installation process.  They will help you configure the technology to fit your specific needs, website design, language, targeting preferences, and inventory selling style.

Read more about ZEDO Self Service at:


Learn about all our products and services and see how we are able to claim that we offer publishers more options than any other advertising technology provider in the industry: http://www.zedo.com/product/for-Publishers.htm.

Contact salesinfo@zedo.com to learn more.

More Options to Monetize Inventory

ZEDO is the only technology partner that provides options to manage your direct sales, maximize revenue from your remnant inventory, and sell to small advertisers directly online.
  • ZEDO Ad Server:  Fully-featured ad server for managing direct sales
  • RevMax Yield Optimizer:  Do-it-yourself or full-service yield optimization with ad network management
  • Self Service Advertising Module:  Plug-n-play self service advertising system that plugs into your site, literally selling your inventory while you sleep

Your job as a publishers is to monetize.  The main objective is to sell your inventory to the highest bidder – and make sure you sell ALL of it.  Your ad inventory is your commodity, and we know that you depend on technology to manage this precious cargo.  You see, it’s our job to help you the publisher make as much revenue as possible, and to do so, we have created advertising technology products and services that can support all the ways you monetize.

While you focus on content, getting users to your website, and keeping advertisers coming back, we work on ways to help you sell and support your premium inventory that is  directly sold to your advertisers, the additional inventory that is handed to your ad networks, and inventory that is sold to your advertisers via a self service system.

Use the ZEDO Ad server to run reports that prove your value to advertiser, manage ad operations and trafficking, and adding countless customers as advertiser buy more and more inventory from your direct sales teams.  Then, use the ZEDO network optimizer “AdNet RevMax” to delegate left over remnent inventory that gets passed onto your ad network chain.  Finally, give your advertisers what they want to keep them coming back!   If some of them want a fast and easy way to buy inventory from you check out ZEDO Self Service for premium publishers at http://www.zedo.com/product/selfServiceAdSystem.html (cause it might be in your best interest to make those advertisers happy!)

By offering products and services that give publishers more advertising technology options, we have built a suite of tools and a knowledgeable support staff that can handle any need a publisher might have – including ways to manage ALL three types of your inventory under one roof. Have fun monetizing!!

Why outsourcing extra ad ops capacity is good

Of ZEDO’s many Advertising Technologies and Services for publishers, outsourced trafficking is the one most in demand today because of its ability to help publishers cut cost.  Publishers using many different ad servers often ask me if ZEDO can help their ad ops team with overflow work load, and I am proud to always answer confidently that ZEDO certainly can.

The benefit of using outsourced ad ops for publishers is threefold:

1. Save Money.
ZEDO, for example, charges about half the fully loaded US cost of a full time ad operations employee (FTE). No one wants to be the one paying more than they have to.

2. More Coverage.
Customers ask my team all the time if someone can help them because their ad ops team is short staffed, or not working on weekends. Advertisers send requests late on Friday night or Saturday mornings and often want ads live by Monday. Publishers usually have great ad ops teams, but only during business hours. Outsourcing provides 24 hour 7 day a week coverage. I am excited that we can do this at any time of the day or night, and customers really appreciate it.

3. Avoiding Retention Issues.
Retaining great ad ops staff is hard work, in my experience. Entry level ad ops recruits often want to move to sales or development after a year.  That means hiring and training all over again and losing your best people. Outsourcing can be a better solution.  By signing up with ZEDO, publishers maintain their excellent senior teams and don’t waste time on hiring and retention. They find this quite a relief.

I think outsourcing of ad ops is the right way to go for publishers. We can add value to any publishers across the world. Outsourced ad ops is one of our big value adds today. Publishers cut costs, avoid wasting time on retention and get excellent 24/7 coverage to win and retain advertisers.

And, there is no better company than ZEDO to do this because we engineered an ad server – we know how they work. I, personally, and my team actually enjoy helping publishers to keep their advertisers happy.

How to make Real Time Bidding a win for Publishers

In response to recent industry enthusiasm for Real Time Bidding (RTB), I feel it is important to look at the publisher’s point of view. Exchanges and real time bidding systems are popular because they allow an advertiser to pay just one cent more than the next highest paying advertiser. Is this a good thing? Advertisers use RTB to continually test lower bids and find the lowest accepted price. Clearly this is a great technology for advertisers.

However, Real Time Bidding can be bad for publishers if they don’t use it well. Take this example of a local advertiser who is happy to pay $4.00 CPM because he is getting a satisfactory cost per conversion. With the new RTB ability to vary bids, the advertiser may find that for some users the next highest bidder is paying $0.40 CPM. Now, the advertiser will only pay $0.41 CPM instead of $4.00 for those users. This is a 90% loss of revenue for publishers.

To benefit from this great new technology, publishers need an Advertising Technology company that is on their side. A good publisher technology allows publishers to prevent bidders or exchanges from knowing, or being able to derive, the price other advertisers are paying. The publisher technology should instead hold their private information close to their chest and set a minimum price. For example, a good technology allows the publisher to set a fair minimum CPM, of e.g. $5, for advertisers that are choosing valuable, locally targeted impressions. ZEDO, as a partner for publishers, is unique in offering this.

Don’t waste inventory on ad network defaults – Use ZEDO’s PASSBACK tags!

Phew….We have been busy lately. And, good news – intelligent PASSBACK tags will be available in mid November!

What are PASSBACK tags?

Ad networks don’t always have an ad to serve for every impression a publisher sends them. So what do they do when they don’t have ads to serve? Correct: serve defaults or PSAs. In short, they serve ads that make no money for the publisher.

However, most of the ad networks allow a publisher to setup a backfill Ad Tag which the ad network will call when they don’t have any ads to serve. This is good, but not GREAT. Why? This means one would have to change the backfill tags every time ad network eCPMs change. That’s too much work and waste of precious time.

This is where ZEDO’s PASSBACK Tag steps in to make some MORE money for publishers. Now our AdNet RevMax product allows you to sequence ads in order of the highest eCPM for each country/ ad dimension combination. When setup as backfill with ad networks, the PASSBACK tag will automatically serve the next ad on “Ranks Ads” (sequencing dashboard). So all you have to do is use AdNet RevMax and rank your ads by highest eCPM for each country/ ad dimension combination.

It’s simple but very intelligent. Intelligent because it keeps track of all the ad networks that don’t have any ads to serve for the day and serves an ad from the next high paying ad network.

So what do you think? Want to increase fill rates and make MORE money? Then get in touch with your account manager. (If you don’t have an account manager, email salesinfo@zedo.com.)

AdNetRevMax got even better!

Are you wondering what CPMs are in different geographic locations? Wondering which ad units you should be running? Or which ad network should get GOOD and more impressions? Well, just ask our all NEW AdNetRevMax and you’ll get all the information you need to make the MOST from all your ad networks.

What has changed?

1. New Ad Tag Performance page shows the following:

a.  eCPM by country/ ad dimension combination.
b.  eCPM trend graph for 8 days and eCPM comparison with same day last week.
c.  Rank and frequency for each Ad
d.  Impressions served yesterday
e.  Sorting on eCPM, Rank and Impressions
f.   Ability to change Rank and frequency

2. Improved Ad Network dashboard

Now watch your eCPM trend for the month and compare it with last month.
AdNetRevMax is built to help publishers make more money from ad networks. Publishers use many ad networks, sometimes in different geographic locations. If a publisher has to make more money, then it’s very important to know which ad network is paying what CPM and in which country. Not only that, one should be able to compare the CPM of  “ad network A” with the CPM of “ad network B”. AdNetRevMax has all the data you need to MAXIMIZE your revenue.

Use it now and start making more money! Email salesinfo@zedo.com for more details.